Socially Dead

Early to rise, early to bed, makes a man healthy, but socially dead.

The Spaniard’s creed, adopted and adhered to with religious devotion.  The people out on the streets at 5am – no, they aren’t just early risers greeting the sun with merry, sing-song slurs on their way to work.  They’re walking home to sleep off the previous night’s gaiety.  I mean, they’ve got a full five hours of sleep before they have to even get to work to open up shop at 10!  And after a rough 4 hour workday, it’s time to lock up shop for a three hour “coffee” break at the nearest tapas bar, which is always flooded with people gulping down some sort of alcoholic beverage.  Refreshed and slightly sedated, when the clock rolls back around to 5pm it’s time to open up shop again and finish out the day.

yeah, that’s ham hanging from the ceiling, if you were wondering.

Sounds pretty good right?  Yeah, unless you’re a tourist whose hourglass is slowly emptying as you pull up to the cathedral you’ve driven two hours to see only to realize that everything is closed…

broken sign on a closed shop – I wouldn’t recommend looking up the meaning of what is left.

I must be honest to you, this is one of the main frustrations I have found since I have been here.  I mean, the whole siesta thing is great if you’ve got a bed or a bench or something relatively clean to lay down on while everyone else is pretty much doing the same thing, but when you want to see everything and the entire city shuts down for a large chunk of the day, it starts wearing on you.  The 15th century buildings and shops and museums are amazing to walk around when they are closed – but oh, to just be able to go inside! But enough talk of this….how quick come the reasons of approving what we are used to.

Here’s a quote from Jane Austen that I have always loved but I am beginning to find more and more relevant.
“The more I see of the world, the more I am dissatisfied with it; and everyday confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of either merit or sense.”

I wish I knew his story

People make no sense – that’s all I have to say.  There are the good, the evil, the wise, the crazy…every type that you could imagine.  And in the end, there is always one who stands out from all the others, one who lets you down.
Here is what is calling my name and beckoning me back home:

I’m dressing up for both. Just sayin’

One thought on “Socially Dead

  1. Pingback: The Zahir, and Travels Around Central Spain | A Ticking Thyme Blonde

Leave a Reply

